Do your legs twitch

i112163

Today I am going to do a bit different post. I hope this will be helpful to someone that suffers with RLS (restless leg syndrome). My husband suffers with RLS and we have had many sleepless nights. He has had it for years and for those who have it understand the exhaustion you suffer when you have a full blown episode. Lately his RLS has been relentless. I think we have tried everything to help relieve the symptoms from Ivory soap bar at the foot of the bed under the sheet…which did not help; to pickle juice. FYI the pickle juice is great if you are having leg cramps, but doesn’t help with RLS.

I have spent many nights massaging his legs to try and give him some relieve from the twitchy, ants crawling on the skin feeling. Nothing seemed to help. I use essential oils and decided to make a mix for him. At first he was very reluctant. His exact words were “there is no way oils are going to help; you must be out of your mind”.

Finally about 3 weeks ago his RLS was in full blown mode and decided to try the mix. Within 5 minutes the symptoms subsided. He was shocked and honestly so was I. The next night he used the mix again and viola no symptoms again. He was actually able to rest! The next evening he said I want to try something instead of using the mix you made use something else; I want to see if it has a placebo effect. So we did and twitchy was back. Now he is faithful in using the mix and his legs are doing remarkably better.

The mix I used is:

  • ½ tbls carrier oil (I like to use sweet almond, but you can use vegetable oil or an oil of your choice.)
  • 3 drops Lavender
  • 3 drops Rosemary
  • 3 drops Peppermint

The key ingredient that helps RLS is Lavender, the Rosemary and Peppermint helps relive muscle pain. *Please note do not use if you have a reaction to lavender.

You can also just use the lavender oil in carrier oil if you prefer not to use the Rosemary and Peppermint.

I hope this post has been helpful. Feel free to follow me on Instagram and Twitter. Have a wonderful weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

